AMS District Trustee Elections

District Trustee Elections

It’s important to our Society that all eligible members have the opportunity to choose the physician leaders who will represent them in the coming year and lead the AMS. Ballots containing the names of candidates for the respective districts will be sent according to the member’s mailing preferences as indicated in the AMS member database and may be returned online, by mail or fax.

All AMS members residing in the district except Affiliate, student, and intern/residents are eligible to vote. Polls will open this Friday, February 15, and voting will close on February 28, at 5:00 p.m. Winning candidates will be notified simultaneously and notified of the requirement to attend the HOD meeting for confirmation.


Districts with no Ballot (same number of open positions as nominees)

District 1

(counties: Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Greene, Lawrence, Mississippi, Poinsett, Randolph)

Tommy Wagner, MD – Family Practice, Manila (incumbent)


District 3

(counties: Arkansas, Cross, Lee, Lonoke, Monroe, Phillips, Prairie, St. Francis, Woodruff)

Dennis Yelvington, MD – Family Practice, Stuttgart (incumbent)


District 4

(counties: Ashley, Chicot, Desha, Drew, Jefferson, Lincoln)

Amy Cahill, MD – Obstetrics & Gynecology, Pine Bluff (incumbent)


District 5

(counties: Bradley, Calhoun, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Ouachita, Union)

Gale McFarland, MD – Urology, Camden (incumbent)


District 6

(counties: Hempstead, Howard, Lafayette, Little River, Miller, Nevada, Pike, Polk, Sevier)

John Hearnsberger, MD – General Surgery, Nashville (incumbent)


District 7

(counties: Clark, Garland, Grant, Hot Spring, Montgomery, Saline)

Lonnie Wright, MD – Radiology, Hot Springs (incumbent)


District 9

(counties: Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Madison, Marion, Newton, Searcy, Van Buren, Washington)

Position 1:  Scott Cooper, MD – Orthopedic Surgery Rogers (incumbent)

Position 2:  Jacob Dickinson, MD – General Surgery, Mountain Home (incumbent)

Districts Receiving Ballots

District 2

(counties: Cleburne, Conway, Faulkner, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Sharp, Stone, White)

One (1) position/two (2) nominees

    1. Jay Jeffrey, MD – General Surgery, Batesville (incumbent)
    2. Garry Stewart, MD – Family Practice, Conway


District 8

(county: Pulaski)

Nine (9) open positions/ten (10) nominees

    1. Robert L. Archer, MD – Neurology, Little Rock (incumbent)
    2. Joseph Beck, MD – Oncology, Little Rock (incumbent)
    3. Ian Birkett, MD – Pathology, Little Rock (incumbent)
    4. Josh Chance, MD – Anesthesiology, Little Rock
    5. Monica Dellimore, MD – Ophthalmology, Little Rock (incumbent)
    6. Muhammad Jaffar, MD – Anesthesiology, Little Rock
    7. James Meserow, MD – Obstetrics & Gynecology, Little Rock
    8. Amir Qureshi, MD – Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Little Rock
    9. Gary Wheeler, MD – Pediatrics, Little Rock (incumbent)
    10. Danny Wilkerson, MD – Anesthesiology, Little Rock (incumbent)


District 10

(counties: Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Logan, Perry, Pope, Scott, Sebastian, Yell)

Two (2) open positions/three (3) nominees

  1. Gary Edwards, DO – Family Practice, Fort Smith (incumbent)
  2. Travis Goodnight, MD – General Surgery, Van Buren
  3. Robert Sanders, DO – Internal Medicine, Lavaca