2014 Award Nominations

The Arkansas Medical Society is seeking nominations for the 2014 Asklepion, Shuffield and Student Leadership Awards. Asklepion and Shuffield Award recipients will be honored at the annual meeting Saturday, May 4, at the Winthrop Rockefeller Institute on Petit Jean Mountain. The Student Leadership Award will be presented during the UAMS White Coat Ceremony. The recipient will receive a commemorative plaque and a $500 gift from the Arkansas Medical Society.

Nominations can be completed online through the following links:

Asklepion Award

The Asklepion Award was developed to recognize AMS members who promote the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health; embody the values of the medical profession through leadership, service, excellence, integrity and ethical behavior; and enrich patients, colleagues and the community through dedicated medical practice. The award is named after Asklepius, the Greek god of medicine and healing.

Shuffield Award

The Shuffield Award is given each year to recognize a non-physician who has made significant contributions to the healthcare community. The award is named in honor of the late Drs. Joe and Elvin Shuffield, a father and son team from Little Rock, who devoted their lives to the quality of healthcare in our state.

The Student Leadership Award

The Arkansas Medical Society Student Leadership Award is given to a medical student who: