Latest News

UAMS Chancellor Patterson Invested in Harry P. Ward Chancellor’s Distinguished Chair

Cam Patterson, M.D., MBA, chancellor of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS), was invested on June 3 as the third recipient of the Harry P. Ward Chancellor’s Distinguished Chair.

Created in 2005, the Ward chair became the first chancellor’s chair endowed at an Arkansas university. I. Dodd Wilson, M.D., who succeeded Harry P. Ward as chancellor in 2000, was the inaugural recipient, followed by Daniel W. Rahn, M.D., who succeeded Wilson in 2009. Patterson has served as chancellor since June 1, 2018.

“I’m so proud to be one of the many great people who have had the chance to hold the Harry Ward Distinguished Chair,” Patterson said. “The medals that we wear to exemplify these distinguished chairs contain connections to each of these individuals, and the work that they did to make UAMS what it is, and these connections will continue as we do big things. We have so much more that we need to do.”

“These connections ensure that we do what is necessary to provide for every Arkansan, and to ensure that, day by day and year by year, the people of Arkansas have better health and better health care,” Patterson said. “To me, that is what this medal embodies.”

The chair is named for Harry P. Ward, M.D., UAMS chancellor from 1979 to 2000, who is remembered as a giant in the history of health care and higher education in Arkansas. Ward led UAMS’ transformation from a small medical school with a charity hospital into a health sciences university and research leader, with an annual economic impact in Arkansas of more than $4.5 billion. His wife, Betty Jo, attended Patterson’s investiture. An endowed chair is among the highest academic honors a university can bestow on a faculty member.

By Benjamin Waldrum, UAMS

‹ Back to All News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *